time is precious

a46a1ae2f9a63ea8689ba64d8324bf27

OK so first of all, I firmly believe in sharing thoughts or cool moments in life big or small with others. you never know who it will inspire and who needs to hear it that day, so share away!!

Something I’ve been thinking a lot about lately is “time” as I wind up my first year of school out in BC. I can’t believe how fast it went by. How many of you have had conversations or heard your parents/grandparents say how fast life flies by?! I guarentee 100% of you reading this have heard this and if you’re like 20 under or maybe even a bit older…you haven’t felt the weight of it. We just hear it and brush it off like okaaayyyy grandma haha. As I get older, the more I realize how true this statement is and how my grandparents just want me to be present in every moment because all we truly have is now. If you’re anything like me, I often times live in my future and past instead of being fully present where I am right here, right now. I think that the society we have grown up in doesn’t help either because its always screaming bigger, better, more – we’re never fully satisfied..we’re always looking for the next best thing and things get old really fast. Time passes right before our eyes.

Something that I’ve learned a lot this year is to slow my life down and savour the moments and to make the very best of the moment I’m in, because right now was once my future and before I know it, it will be my past. How do I want to spend my moments? Do I want to keep on wishing for more and reminiscing the past or make the best of whats going on around me. I know that God’s plan is so so great for each of our lives and if only we fully embraced the time that he has us in right now…what blessings we would feel!

“So many people just don’t enjoy life. They look at it as one struggle after another, don’t get me wrong – we all have challenges and negative experiences each day, but our attitude towards them is what really counts. There are people that look at their week like this: blue Monday, hump Wednesday, and Thank God it’s Friday. Many times their weekend is ho-hum, and they start over again the next week – the grind continues. Life is dull to dull people, and life is interesting to interesting to interesting people. You can’t have a good day like everyone says. you have to choose to have a good day sometimes. ”

after reading this I thought how sad and terrible that we live in a way that we wish for each day to pass so quickly. We rarely look at our weeks with excitement and contentment with where we’re at. Am I choosing to make each day an adventure?! How much life do we let pass by because were always so focused on whats next. I think perspective and attitude plays the most important role in this. Learning to change the way we think and see our circumstances with grateful hearts and full joy in all moments and even in tough circumstances. I know for me in my greatest trials have stretched and challenged me in crazy ways that I’m now so so thankful for.

As I’m getting ready to go back home to Calgary for the summer, I feel myself starting to get sad leaving my community, church, and life here in BC while also excited at the same time to see family and my hometown. Two months ago I was wishing for summer and Calgary. I spent a week or two wishing I was home in Calgary and now I’m sad to leave BC. Instead of savouring my time and the gift of today, I was hoping for something else. I think everyone could think of one or two of these moments the have happened in your life. As I spend my last week here in BC before I head back to Calgary for the summer, I’m choosing to be fully present in the moments. Once I get to Calgary, I’m going to choose to be fully present. Once I get back to BC at the beginning of September, I’m going o choose to be fully present. It’s a choice on how we view the days and moments of our lives. choose well.

“sink deeply into the world as it stands. breathe in the smell of rain and the scuff of leaves as they scrape across driveways on windy nights. this is where life is, not some imaginary, photo-shopped dreamland. Here. Now. You. just as you are. Me, just as I am. This world, just as it is. This is the good stuff. This is the BEST stuff there is. Perfect has nothing on truly, completely, wide-eyed, open-souled present.” -shauna Niequist (present over perfect)

XX – j

Leave a Reply

